PM Modi unveils new series of Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10, Rs 20 coins; details here

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday, March 7, 2019, unveiled the new series of visually impaired friendly coins of various denominations including Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10 and Rs 20. The new series of coins were released at an event held at 7, Lok Kalyan Marg, New Delhi where visually impaired children were specially invited. All the new series coins will be issued for circulation only through the Reserve Bank in terms of the RBI Act.

The Union Government is guided by the vision of reaching the last mile and the last person, PM Modi said while releasing the coins. The circulation new series coins with various differentiating features, will greatly aid the visually impaired and will facilitate the visually impaired, and will instal them with confidence, PM said further.

The Rs 20 coin, the first-ever coin offering in Rs 20 denomination, has been created in the shape of a 12-edged polygon with a design of grains to denote farm dominance of the nation. The new series coins are characterized by the increasing size and weight from lower to higher denominations and the rest of the denominations, other than Rs 20, would in a round shape. The exact date of issuance of new series coins is yet to be announced.

Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Minister of State for Finance Pon Radhakrishnan were present along with PM Modi the event today. According to a PTI report, the new series coins are minted at state-owned mints at Mumbai, Alipore (Kolkata), Saifabad (Hyderabad), Cherlapally (Hyderabad) and Noida (U.P.). The news series coins of denominations Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5 and Rs 10 will be circular in design and will represent denominations written in Hindi script.

Concluding the event, PM Modi thanked the National Institute of Design for the design, Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Ltd and the Ministry of Finance for the introduction of new coins.

Source:- timesnownews